Yesterday we had a class trip to Tedx Youth Waterloo for the whole day. The theme was "Chasing Home".  There was 16 guest speakers that came to talk to us. Out of all the speakers I think Richard McLean was the best. He talked about his life basically. He told us about how he grew up with not so good of a life, how his dad was an alcoholic & his mother died from cancer while he was still young. He then went into foster care & adoption, he was saying how he felt that no one wanted him & he wasn't worth it. His sister, that was a year older than him & he was very close to, got into a car accident & past away. That brought him down even more to the point where he was having major depression. He later ran away from his foster house & went to Toronto. He was homeless there, lived with the other homeless people. Thats when he found where he belonged, where he found home. To me, his story was the most touching. Not that all of that happened to me, but I really connected with his story. Also while we were there we traded business cards with the other schools that we made. The cards were mostly for our Weebly address' so that the students at the other schools could go on to our Weebly's & read & comment on our blogs. We can also do the same with theirs now. All in all, every single presentation from the guest speakers was wonderful, I loved them all.
3/28/2013 03:45:53 am

I'm surprised you like all of them. I thought that the 9 year old girl wasn't professional in her speaking at all and it made it difficult to take her seriously. thoughts?

Reply
3/28/2013 11:10:31 am

There were parts where it was hard to take her seriously, but she is only 9 & she did have a lot of good information.

Reply
MsLillie
4/9/2013 12:59:58 pm

I actually agree with both of you. I wanted her to stop talking to her friend because it was really taking away from her message. That said, I was much more understanding of her shortcomings because she was only 9...and I still think I have to watch that Disney movie so she must have persuaded me a little bit!

Reply
Courtney Harth
4/12/2013 03:03:37 am

Yea, she did talk to her friend a lot. It was getting a little annoying. I forgot about that movie, what was it called?

Reply
Ladina bent
4/16/2013 12:00:34 am

All the speakers were touching .

Reply



Leave a Reply.